About | Events | Gallery | Members | History | Sponsors | Contacts

Contact Us

Honorary Treasurer

Geoff Thoroughgood
0417 669 338

Event Enquiries

Victoria Ramirez
0417 291 971

About the Carbine Club

The Carbine Club of New South Wales is bonded by a couple of simple but very significant affections – for sport, fellowship and community.

The membership list includes champions from many fields of sport, including horse racing, Olympic and Commonwealth Games, Test cricket, rugby and rugby league, surf lifesaving, golf and motor racing. Other members have established their reputation in sports administration, business, politics and the media.

The Club conducts a number of luncheons each year, at which it honours a particular sport coinciding with a national or international event in that sport. All funds raised are used to encourage youth in sport.

Annual General Meeting

Past Chairman and Incoming Chairman

John Coates, Doug Donoghue, Peter Falk, Michael Bushell, Jaimie Barkley, Alan Whelpton
Peter Kerr, Ken Page

Incoming Chairman - Jaimie Barkley

Immediate Past Chairman - Michael Bushell

2013 Carbine Club of NSW Annual Golf Day

Wednesday 7th August was a pleasantly sunny day for the 2013 Carbine Club Annual Golf Day, which was once again played at the very picturesque St Michael’s Golf Club.

The field was comprised of 19 strong teams, which provided 75 players for the individual event. St Michael’s Golf Club has copious quantities of GPS fitted motorised carts, which ... along with the benign weather conditions ... contributed to some excellent team and individual scores.

The golf prizes were won by:

  • 1st Place Team Event - Team Gilbert (Dave Gilbert, Reg Hammond, Paul Kofod and Colin Love) with 91 stableford points.
  • 2nd Place Team Event - Team Whelpton (Tom O’Connor, Bob Otway, Warren Rennie and Alan Whelpton) with 90 stableford points.
  • 3rd Place Team Event - Tubbs N°2 Team (Phil Byrnes, Peter Dind, Steven Lang and Chris Meagher) with 89 stableford points on a count back.
  • 4th Place Team Event - Team Guth (Jim Beatty, Bob Guth, David Jackson and Barry Phillis) also with 89 stableford points.
  • 5th Place Team Event - Team Stapleton (Jeffrey Bell, David Hoggett, Patrick McGrath and Peter Stapleton) with 87 stableford points.
  • 1st Place Individual Event - Phil Byrnes with 40 stableford points.
  • 2nd Place Individual Event – Trevor McNally with 39 stableford points.
  • 3rd Place Individual Event - Robert Turton with 38 stableford points.
  • Longest Drive - Jeffrey Bell
  • Nearest-to-Pin – Roger Perkins
  • Team Bradman “Award” – Team Franklin (no names, no pack-drill!)

Excellent prizes were donated by Frank Arangio, Jamie Barkley, Bob Guth, Phil Kearns, Damien Keogh, Geoff Thoroughgood, Alan Whelpton, Australian Turf Club, St Michael’s Golf Club, Sydney FC and the Sydney Swans. Many thanks to those members and/or their associated organisations.

A good day was had by all and the Treasurer went home with a smile on his face, given that all 75 participants were full paying customers and extremely generous purchasers of raffle tickets.

Carbine Club of NSW Rugby Luncheon

On 15 August CC NSW held their popular ARU luncheon at the Four Seasons Hotel in the Harbour City. The event was well supported by the ARU, and saw Carbine Club members Phil Kearns and Gordon Bray interview ARU CEO Bill Pulver followed by a very entertaining panel comprising of Nick Farr-Jones, Phil Waugh and James Horwill (Wallabies Captain). The Bledisloe Cup made an appearance, to the delight of many guests who took advantage of a photo opportunity with it.

Carbine Club Member and Comedian Vince Sorrenti finished off the luncheon in style, guests were also gifted Wallabies hat and scarves with all agreeing that this was one of the year’s best luncheons.

Carbine Club of NSW Junior AFL Scholarship

Congratulations to Callum Mills (Swans) and Brandon Clark (GWS Giants) on receiving the Carbine Club of NSW Junior AFL Scholarship. Both promising AFL players were presented with their scholarship at the Club’s recent AFL Luncheon by Chairman Michael Bushell.


From left to Right - Michael Bushell (Chairman), Jenny Bushell, Michael Crismale (Committee), Gail Crismale, Selena Barkley, Jamie Barkley (Deputy Chairman) at Derby Day Randwick

Wallabies at Bledisloe Cup luncheon

At the Club’s Rugby Union luncheon, held two days before the Bledisloe Cup clash between the Wallabies and the All Blacks, guests gained an insight into the Wallabies’ Test preparation from Head Coach Robbie Deans and long-serving lock, Nathan Sharpe.

Deans, a former All Black, was questioned about the make-up of the Australian team, particularly the backline with NSW fly-half Berrick Barnes preferred ahead of Queensland’s Quade Cooper.

Sharpe, a veteran of 105 Tests and one of Australia’s most decorated forwards, outlined how the Wallabies will approach the Test and the on-field roles and responsibilities of the senior players.

Club members were further entertained when former Test captains Stirling Mortlock and Club member Simon Poidevin, were interviewed by MC Andrew Coorey.

Mortlock and Poidevin recalled past winning experiences against the All Blacks with Poidevin displaying his own MC skills when asking Mortlock a series of questions recalling his infamous intercept try against the New Zealanders at the 2003 Rugby World Cup semi-final.

Olympians Honoured by Club

The club was honoured to have a number of London Olympians, including sailing gold medallist Matthew Page, attend the luncheon just 24 hours after arriving home from the Games.

Joining Page at the luncheon were Tess Gerrand (Rowing), Elisa Barnard (Archery), Jo Bridgen-Jones (Kayaking), Suzy Balogh (Shooting), Sailing Coach Victor Kovalenko, Sailing Manager Peter Conde and Australian Olympic Committee Secretary General, Craig Phillips.

Page and Phillips were quizzed by Club member, David Morrow, who covered the London Games for ABC Radio.

Page, Australia’s flag bearer at the Closing Ceremony, was presented with a framed Australian flag at the luncheon by Phillips, on behalf of the AOC, to commemorate this honour.

Athlete Grant recipients

The Club continued its support of junior sport in NSW with $5000 Athlete Grants presented to Sam Cocokios (Water Polo), Abbey Harkin (Swimming) and Holly Lawrence (Swimming) at the Bledisloe Cup luncheon.

A further $5000 grant was made to the Lloyd McDermott Rugby Development Team which promotes Rugby Union for young indigenous men and women.

Cocokios, a student at De La Salle College in Cronulla and a member of the NSW Institute of Sport elite training squad, is an outstanding water polo goal-keeper who has represented NSW at every age level since winning selection in the NSW under 14 team in 2008. He has also won selection in Australian age teams in 2010, 2011 and again in 2012 and will tour New Zealand with the Australian Schoolboy team in December.

Abbey enjoyed outstanding success at her first Australian Age Championships at Brisbane this year winning the 12 – 13 years old division 100m breaststroke, 200m breaststroke and 200m individual medley as well as taking silver in the 400m individual medley. The Newcastle schoolgirl’s 200m individual medley was the second fastest ever by a 13 year old Australian girl. Following these results, Abbey was selected in the Junior Australian Team for the Trans-Tasman series.

Holly capped off a stellar 12 months winning the Schoolgirls Single Scull at the Australian Championships last year and was selected as a reserve for the NSW Women’s Youth Eight. Originally from Maitland and now studying Bachelor of Science at Sydney University, Holly is aiming to earn a seat in the Sydney University eight that will compete in New Zealand later this year.


What's On


Carbiner Newsletter

2014 Events